La Altagracia Province

La Altagracia Province is the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic. It’s known for its beautiful beaches and is a popular tourist destination. The major cities and towns in La Altagracia Province include:

1. Higüey: This is the capital city of the province. It’s known for the Basilica La Altagracia, a Roman Catholic cathedral that attracts many visitors each year.

2. Punta Cana: Probably the best-known city in the province, Punta Cana is known for its beaches, clear waters, and abundant resorts. The Punta Cana International Airport is the primary gateway for tourists visiting the province.

3. Bávaro: Located on the eastern coast of the province, Bávaro was originally developed as a town for resort workers. Today, it’s a destination in its own right, with beaches, resorts, and golf courses.

4. Bayahibe: This small town is a launching point for boat trips to Saona Island, a popular day trip. It also has its own beach and several resorts.

5. Cap Cana: This is a luxury resort and real estate community located adjacent to Punta Cana.

6. Verón: Also known as Punta Cana Village, this is a modern town where many resort workers live.

These cities and towns each have their own unique features and attractions, making La Altagracia Province a diverse and interesting place to visit or live.

La Altagracia Province, while one of the smaller provinces of the Dominican Republic, is densely populated with a number of smaller towns and communities in addition to those mentioned earlier. Some of the other smaller towns in the province include:

1. El Macao: A small fishing village and beach town, also known for its public beach which is a popular surfing spot.

2. Uvero Alto: This area is home to several high-end resorts and is located north of Punta Cana.

3. Miches: Located on the north side of the province, Miches is a small town with beautiful beaches. It’s less developed than other parts of the province and offers a more off-the-beaten-path experience.

4. La Vacama: A rural area known for its stunning landscapes and vast sugarcane fields.

5. Nisibón: A small town near the mouth of the Nisibón River, known for its mangrove forests.

6. San Rafael del Yuma: A municipality that includes the town of Boca de Yuma, a scenic fishing village with a historic fort.

Remember, the Dominican Republic has complex local administrative divisions, with provinces divided into municipalities, which are further divided into municipal districts. Each one may include multiple towns or cities. The ones listed here are among the most known and recognized ones.

La Altagracia Province covers a broad area and has many smaller towns, villages, and communities in addition to the key cities and towns already listed. While the most populated and well-known areas have been mentioned, there are also several rural and smaller communities spread across the province. These often consist of local residents, farm lands, or might serve as residential areas for employees of nearby resorts.

However, the main population centers and places of interest for visitors or potential residents are the ones already mentioned: Higüey, Punta Cana, Bávaro, Bayahibe, Cap Cana, Verón, El Macao, Uvero Alto, Miches, La Vacama, Nisibón, and San Rafael del Yuma.

Keep in mind that the province is continuously developing due to the heavy influence of tourism, so new communities and developments can pop up. It’s always a good idea to reach out to a local real estate agent or tour guide for the most up-to-date information about the province.

For inquiries contact:

Amy Miller
Public Relations Manager
774 NE 84th St Miami, FL 33879

Kyle Parker
Public Relations Associated
774 NE 84th St Miami, FL 33879

Corporate Headquarters
1584 Biscayne Boulevard
Miami FL, 33176

Compare listings